Skip to main content

About the PMHC-MDS

Funding by the Australian Government Department of Health has been provided to Primary Health Networks (PHNs) through a Primary Mental Health Care flexible funding pool to support commissioning of mental health and suicide prevention services in six key service delivery areas:

  • low intensity psychological interventions for people with, or at risk of, mild mental illness;
  • psychological therapies delivered by mental health professionals to under serviced groups;
  • early intervention services for children and young people with, or at risk of mental illness;
  • services for people with severe and complex mental illness who are being managed in a primary care setting;
  • enhanced Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander mental health services; and
  • a regional approach to suicide prevention activities with a focus on improved follow-up for people who have attempted suicide or are at high risk of suicide.

The Primary Mental Health Care Minimum Data Set (PMHC MDS) will provide the basis for PHNs and the Department of Health to monitor and report on the quantity and quality of service delivery, and to inform future improvements in the planning and funding of primary mental health care services funded by the Australian Government.

The data reported by PHNs through the PMHC MDS will form the basis for production of key performance indicators used to monitor services delivered across the 31 PHN regions covered by PHNs.

Strategic Data Pty Ltd has been contracted by the Department of Health to manage the PMHC MDS on its behalf.

A specification of the data items to be collected in the PMHC MDS is available.

If you would like to be notified about updates to this specification or announcements about the rollout of the PMHC MDS please subscribe to the PMHC MDS mailing list by sending an email to with the subject “subscribe”. This is not a general discussion list. Only moderated users can send messages to this list.

Information about how to get started on the PMHC MDS is available and will be regularly updated.



Changes to HeadtoHelp Data Specification - Practitioner Level of Care - 23/2/2021

HeadtoHelp Hubs Data Specification v3.0.2

On 26 February 2021, a new field “Practitioner Level of Care” will be added to the IAR-DST record of the HeadtoHelp Hubs PMHC MDS Extension.

In order to incorporate these changes, the upload specification for the HeadtoHelp Hubs Data Specification will be updated.

A new field - Practitioner Level of Care - will be added to the IAR-DST record:

Description: The individualised level of care assessed by the practitioner for the referral

Field name: iar_dst_practitioner_level_of_care

Data type: string

Required: yes


  • 1: Level 1 - Self Management
  • 2: Level 2 - Low Intensity Services
  • 3: Level 3 - Moderate Intensity Services
  • 4: Level 4 - High Intensity Services
  • 5: Level 5 - Acute and Specialist Community Mental Health Services
  • 9: Missing

Existing IAR-DST data will have the Practitioner Level of Care set to 9: Missing. All new data must use responses 1-5.

The user guides have been updated to reflect these updates. They are available at:


HeadtoHelp -

The Way Back -


View Archive